Looking for help?
Print

Assigning Learners to Modules / Folders

Note: Please refer to our previous ArcLab User Guide if you’re still using the earlier version of the Learner Management System. 

Individual Modules vs Folders

You can share your private content on ArcLab with your authorised learners either as an individual module or as a folder.

For individual module sharing, learners will receive a unique magic link (passwordless login) on their mobile devices (via Email or SMS). Clicking on this link directly opens up the module for them to access and complete. 

⚠️ Note: Learners can also access the module via the published URL link or QR code of the module. They will be prompted to enter their registered ID, email address, or phone number. If their records are found, a unique magic link will then be sent to either their registered email address or phone number.

For folder sharing, learners will receive a unique magic link (passwordless login) on their mobile devices (via Email or SMS). Clicking on this link opens up their personal learner’s dashboard where they can access and complete the collection of modules within. On their dashboard, learners can also track their own completion status and progress for each module.

Creating Folders

⚠️ Note: Authorised learners in folders will override all authorised learners in your individual modules (i.e. learners will lose their completion status and access to the module). Please exercise caution when moving “live” modules with authorised learners into new or existing folders.

1. On your Project Dashboard, mouseover the ellipsis icon of the project/module that you wish to move into a folder, then click Move to Folder.

2. Click + Add to a New Folder.

3. Enter the desired name for your folder (your learners will see this name as the title of their folder), then click the green tick button.

4. Your new folder will appear under the Folders panel on the leftmost column of your Project Dashboard.

4. To add more projects/modules into existing folders, mouseover the ellipsis icon of the project/module, then click Move to Folder. Select the folder to move your project/module into, then click Move.

5. To move projects/modules across existing folders, mouseover the ellipsis icon of the project/module, then click Move to Another Folder. Select the folder to move your project/module into, then click Move.

6. To remove projects/modules from folders, mouseover the ellipsis icon of the project/module, then click Remove from Folder.

⚠️ Note: New published modules added to live folders with existing learners will be automatically reflected on your learners’ dashboard. Published modules that are removed will also no longer be visible & accessible on your learners’ dashboard.

Ordering Sequence of Modules within Folder

The modules on your learners’ dashboard are presented in an alphanumeric order. You can rename/add an alphanumeric prefix to the title of the modules within your folder if you wish to have the modules presented in a certain order on your learners’ dashboard (e.g. “1. Introduction“, “2. About Us“, “3. Rules & Regulations“, “4. Quiz“). 

Assigning Learners to Individual Modules

After adding the learners on your Learners Dashboard, you can assign them to specific modules for access (i.e. authorised learners):

1. On your Editor, go to Module Settings (dropdown menu beside project/module title), then click Manage Learners.

2. Click Manage Learners, then select the respective learners using the checkbox. You may also use the Search Bar to search for specific learners. Once done, click on Update.

3. You can also assign learner groups by clicking on Manage Learner Groups, then select the respective learner groups using the checkbox. You can select All Learners to assign all learners that have been added on your Learners Dashboard to the module. You may also use the Search Bar to search for specific learner groups. Once done, click on Update.

4. To unassign or remove learners/learner groups’ access rights to the module, you may click on the delete icon, or click on Manage Learners or Manage Learner Groups, then uncheck the learners or learner groups respectively. 

⚠️ Note: Learners’ completion progress will still be retained if they are unassigned/removed and later re-assigned to the module. 

5. Once done, you may proceed to send an invitation to the select learners/learner groups or click on Save Changes.

Assigning Learners to Folders

After adding the learners on your Learners Dashboard, you can assign them to specific folders for access (i.e. authorised learners):

1. On your Project Dashboard, mouseover the ellipsis icon beside the specific folder, then click Manage Learners

2. Click Manage Learners, then select the respective learners using the checkbox. You may also use the Search Bar to search for specific learners. Once done, click on Update.

3. You can also assign learner groups by clicking on Manage Learner Groups, then select the respective learner groups using the checkbox. You can select All Learners to assign all learners that have been added on your Learners Dashboard to the folder. You may also use the Search Bar to search for specific learner groups. Once done, click on Update.

4. To unassign or remove learners/learner groups’ access rights to the folder, you may click on the delete icon, or click on Manage Learners or Manage Learner Groups, then uncheck the learners or learner groups respectively. 

⚠️ Note: Learners’ completion progress will still be retained if they are unassigned/removed and later re-assigned to the module. 

5. Once done, you may proceed to send an invitation to the select learners/learner groups or click on Done.

FAQ

Yes, you can add new published modules to your “live” folders with existing learners. The new modules added into the folder will be automatically reflected on their learner’s dashboard. 

No, learners cannot access your folder through a published URL link or QR code. You have to send an invitation link directly to your learners’ via email or SMS for them to access your folder. 

Check if your module is part of a folder. If it is, you will have to assign your learners from the folder’s Manage Learner settings instead. Alternatively, you may remove the module from the folder. This will then enable you to assign learners to the module directly. 

It is likely that the module has been moved into a folder. Authorised learners in folders will override all authorised learners in your individual modules (i.e. learners will lose their completion status and access to the module).

Removing the module from the folder will restore the authorised learners to your module – alongside their completion statuses and access.

There are two ways you can do so. First, you may unpublish the module or modules in your folder. All learners/learner groups assigned to the module/folder will no longer be able to access them until you publish them again. Second, you may also unassign all or specific learners/learner groups from the module/folder. Their completion progress will be retained when you reassign them to the module/folder again. 

No, learners’ completion progress will not be lost if you unassign them from your module/folder. Their completion progress will be restored when you re-assign them back to the module/folder again. Learners’ completion progress will only be lost if you delete them from your Learners Dashboard

You may change your learners’ details accordingly on your Learners Dashboard. Their details will be automatically updated for every module/folder that they have been assigned to.

No, your learners will still be able to access their assigned modules/folders. However, if you’re using learner invitations and your learners’ email address or phone number have changed, you may wish to resend the learner invitations to their new email address or phone number again, in case they have lost their previous invitation message/link. 

Didn’t find what you need? 

Speak with the team directly via Chat! Simply click on the Chat bubble at the bottom right of the page

Previous Learner Groups
Next Sending Learner Invitations
Skip to: