Looking for help?
Print

ArcLab SmartTranslate

What is ArcLab SmartTranslate?

ArcLab SmartTranslate enables you to automatically translate your module/content into any languages in a matter of seconds! With ArcLab SmartTranslate, language shall no longer be a barrier for you to create and deliver fuss-free & inclusive training to learners of various diversity and language needs. 

Adding Translations

1. Click on the translation icon at the top centre of your Editor, then click + Add Smart Translation.

2. Choose and select the language that you wish to translate your content into, then click Start Translating.

3. Once the auto-translation is complete, click Done. All content in your module is now translated into your desired language. These include your answer explanations, hints, and correct/wrong keywords for auto-grading enabled Open-Ended Question screens. There are no limits to the number of translations that you can add to your module so go ahead and add as many translations to your module as needed!

ūüí° Tip: For Smart Translated modules, minimise the use of pictures/infographics with in-picture captions & text since they will not be translated to the desired language(s).

Editing Translations

Check and make the minor refinements to the auto-translated language(s) where necessary: 

1. Click on the translation icon at the top centre of your Editor, then click Select Translated Version.

2. Select the translated version of your module to edit then click View Translated Version.

3. Make the necessary refinements/edits where necessary. You can change the language of the text you input by changing your computer’s keyboard’s language. 

4. You can switch to another translated version of your module by clicking on the translation icon > Translation: “Language”. Then, select the¬†translated version of then click¬†View Translated Version.

5. You can switch back to the source material (i.e. original version/language of your module) by clicking on the translation icon > Source Material: “Language”.¬†

6. Remember to Save and/or Publish your module when you’re done editing the translation(s).

Re-translations

You may wish to perform an update of your translation(s) whenever you have new screens with new content added to your source material (i.e. original version/language of your module). This is when re-translate comes into play:

1. Click on the translation icon at the top centre of your Editor, then click Select Translated Version.

2. Select the translated version(s) of your module, then click Re-Translate.

  • Unchecked¬†Overwrite User Edits (default). New screens with new content will be translated only. Earlier user-made language refinements will be preserved.¬†
  • Checked Overwrite User Edits. Replace all content with new machine translation. Previous user-made language refinements will be overridden.¬†

3. Remember to Save and/or Publish your module when you’re done with all re-translation(s).

Removing Translations

1. Click on the translation icon at the top centre of your Editor, then click Select Translated Version.

2. Select the translated version of your module to remove then click View Translated Version.

3. Click on the translation icon at the top centre of your Editor again, then click Delete Translation.

FAQ

ArcLab SmartTranslate is powered by Google Neural Machine Translation (GNMT) that enables the instant translation of texts into more than 100 languages. GNMT uses machine learning to create more accurate and natural translations over time. In other words, ArcLab SmartTranslate will only get better with time!

There is no limit to the number of translations that you can add to your module so feel free to add as many as you need. Your learners will be able to choose their preferred language at the start of your module based on the translations that you have added.

At the moment, modules can only be translated one at a time. This also helps encourage Builders to check through the translation(s) for each module to ensure that important information do not get lost in translation. 

For changes/edits to existing screens only (i.e. no additional screens with new content), Re-Translate works only if Overwrite User Edits is checked. That means that previous user-made language refinements to the translated version(s) of the module will be overridden. 

Unfortunately, Re-Translate whilst preserving previous user-made language refinements at this moment works only on new screens that are added to your source material/version. 

To Re-Translate changes/edits to existing screens whilst preserving previous user-made refinements (i.e. Overwrite User Edits unchecked), add a new screen of the same type, then, copy and paste the entire edited content onto the new screen before hitting Re-Translate (Overwrite User Edits unchecked). 

First, ensure that all changes/edits are made on the source material itself (i.e. original version/language of your module). Next, if you are re-translating whilst preserving previous user-made language refinements (i.e. Overwrite User Edits unchecked), add a new screen of the same type, then, copy and paste the entire edited content onto the new screen before hitting Re-Translate (Overwrite User Edits unchecked). 

Didn‚Äôt find what you need? 

Speak with the team directly via Chat! Simply click on the Chat bubble at the bottom right of the page

Previous Design & Themes
Skip to: